image description

Additional WV Counties Declared Disaster Areas

June 29th, 2016 by WCBC Radio

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin today announced his request to expand the Federal Disaster Declaration to include Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers, Monroe, Webster and Pocahontas counties has been granted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). This federal declaration provides residents of these counties with access to individual assistance, including emergency medical support and housing, and will help to address immediate needs. These seven counties are in addition to Kanawha, Greenbrier and Nicholas counties, which were approved Saturday.

"By expanding the federal declaration to include these additional counties, West Virginians in the most affected areas will now have access to much-needed assistance to clean up and rebuild," Gov. Tomblin said. "As cleanup and response efforts continue in so many of our communities, I'm deeply grateful for the continued efforts of our state's National Guard and local emergency responders, who remain hard at work helping our neighbors. I appreciate the continued support of our congressional delegation as we work with federal partners to provide critical resources to West Virginians in need as quickly as possible."

The governor also lifted the State of Emergency for all counties with the exception of Kanawha, Greenbrier, Nicholas, Fayette, Clay, Roane, Summers, Webster, Pocahontas, Monroe, Lincoln and Jackson counties.

"Lifting the State of Emergency for these 32 counties is the first step on a long road ahead that allows us to focus our state resources on those areas devastated by flood waters," Gov. Tomblin said. "In the coming days, we will continue to work together to help our hardest-hit communities dig out and rebuild. While the past several days have brought heartbreak and challenges for all of us, West Virginians are resilient people, and we rebuild our state stronger than ever."

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site