image description

Congressional Delegation Pushes For Storm Disaster Declaration

February 23rd, 2016 by WCBC Radio

U.S. Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Ben Cardin (both D-Md.), together with U.S. Representatives John Delaney, Steny H. Hoyer, Elijah E. Cummings, Chris Van Hollen, C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Donna F. Edwards, and Andy Harris today in a letter to President Obama expressed their strong support for Governor Larry Hogan’s request for a federal Disaster Declaration for Maryland being impacted by severe winter weather.

“We are writing to express our shared support for Governor Larry Hogan’s request for the declaration of a major disaster for the State of Maryland as a result of a severe winter snowstorm which impacted our State beginning January 22, 2016.  Given the massive impact that this storm had on the State’s resources, we respectfully request that you expeditiously approve the provision of supplementary Federal assistance,” wrote members of the Delegation.

The Disaster Declaration would make federal funding available to the State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms and snowstorms in all Maryland counties and the City of Baltimore.

As a result of the snowstorms, Maryland was in a state of emergency from January 22, 2016 to January 29, 2016 and the Maryland National Guard was called into service. The storm caused an estimated $34 million in damage across Maryland.

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site