image description

FSU President Honored

June 10th, 2015 by WCBC Radio

Jonathan Gibralter, Ph.D., president of Frostburg State University (FSU), received the Senator Harold Hughes Memorial Award today from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), part of the National Institutes of Health.  NIAAA Director George Koob, Ph.D., announced his selection during the 139th meeting of the National Advisory Council on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.

The Hughes Award recognizes the contributions of a non-researcher whose work translates research into practice and builds bridges across the alcohol prevention, treatment, and policy-making communities.  The award is named for Harold Hughes, a former Governor of Iowa and U.S. Senator, and a major force behind the Comprehensive Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism Prevention, Treatment, and Rehabilitation Act of 1970, which created NIAAA.  Until his death in 1996, Senator Hughes remained active in the alcohol field, founding recovery centers and raising awareness about alcohol’s impact on health. 

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site