image description

WCBC/Frostburg State University Salute Winners Announced

May 13th, 2015 by WCBC Radio

Three Allegany County Public School students were recently selected as 2015 recipients of the WCBC/Frostburg State University annual Student Salute Program scholarships.

Lexy Llewellyn of Mountain Ridge High School will receive a $5,000 one-year scholarship, to be used for tuition, to Frostburg State University for the 2015-2016 academic year. Steven Glasbrenner and Brea Ishler, both also seniors at Mountain Ridge High School, are the second and third place recipients of $500 scholarships to FSU for the upcoming year.

The Allegany County Student Salute Program is a collaborative effort to recognize high school seniors who excel in the classroom sponsored by WCBC and Younger Toyota, Frostburg State University, The Allegany County Chamber of Commerce, and the Allegany County Board of Education. Through the program, those students identified as exceptional academic achievers, based on GPA, school and community leaders, and who intend to enroll at Frostburg State University, earn the opportunity to qualify for scholarships.

Lexy is a member of the volleyball, track and field and Diamonds Dance teams, the yearbook staff, National Honor Society, and is a peer helper and tutor at Mountain Ridge. She is a Sunday School youth leader, assists with Relay for Life, and aided in the implementation and management of the Barton Athletic Association Concessions for coach-pitch baseball. Lexy is a leader of Adopt-a-Highway, a mentor to youth interested in volleyball, participates in the annual CROP walk and is a service volunteer for the annual Barton Alumni Dinner. She plans to attend Frostburg State University and hopes to pursue a career as a Federal Drug Enforcement agent.

Steven is the captain of the basketball and soccer teams at Mountain Ridge, and is a member of the FCA, National Honor Society, the Science Bowl, the Spanish Club, and the 1800 Club for SATs. He helps coach at Wooten’s Basketball camp, assists special education students during PE class, volunteers at the Mountain Ridge basketball camp, and is a tutor for NHS. He plans to study math at Frostburg State University and hopes to pursue a career as an actuary.

Brea is a member of the Mock Trial team, National Honor Society, and is the Editor-in-Chief for the school newspaper at Mountain Ridge. She volunteers her time at the Frostburg Village Nursing Home, with walks to benefit the American Diabetes Association, and on youth group mission trips. She plans to attend Frostburg State University and hopes to pursue a career as a child life specialist.

The Allegany County Board of Education distributes and collects applications for the Student Salute scholarships, which are converted into “on-air” salutes that run daily on WCBC radio sponsored by Younger Toyota. The Allegany County Chamber of Commerce’s Education Committee reviews all applications and selects the FSU scholarship recipients. All three students were recognized at the May business meeting of the Board of Education.


  • First Place – Ms. Lexy Llewellyn, Mountain Ridge High School – one year full scholarship ($5000) (Center)
  • Second Place – Mr. Steven Glasbrenner, Mountain Ridge High School – $500 scholarship (Right)
  • Third Place – Ms. Brea Ishler, Mountain Ridge High School – $500 scholarship (Left)
  • Rear – Jim Robertson, Allegany County Chamber of Commerce Education Committee; Mary Clites, WCBC Radio, Wray Blair, Frostburg State University

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site