image description

Hogan Tabs More Transition Team Members

November 17th, 2014 by WCBC Radio

Governor-elect Larry Hogan announced six new members of the Hogan-Rutherford transition team at a press conference at the Department of Budget and Management in Annapolis this afternoon: former State Senate Minority Leader Marty Madden; columnist and commentator Blair Lee; State Senator Joe Getty; economist Anirban Basu; former Maryland State Superintendent of Schools Nancy Grasmick; and retired Judge of the United States District Court for the District of Maryland, Alexander Williams Jr.

“I am pleased to have these well-respected, distinguished, and incredibly talented Marylanders serving on our transition team as we work to take Maryland in a new direction,” said Governor-elect Hogan.

Each new member will have a specific focus during the transition. Both Madden and Lee will serve as special advisors to the transition team. Senator Getty will lead the legislative and policy team. Basu, chairman and CEO of Sage Policy Group, an economic and policy consulting firm in Baltimore, will serve as economic development and economic policy advisor. Grasmick, former teacher and administrator who also served as a Cabinet secretary with Mr. Hogan in the Ehrlich administration, will serve as education advisor. Finally, Williams, a retired judge and a Howard University Law School professor, will serve as a liaison to the judicial branch of state government. 

Basu has been a frequent speaker for the Greater Cumberland Committee and other local groups focused on the local economy.

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site