image description

Maryland Police Training & Standards Commission Meets

October 24th, 2016 by WCBC Radio

The new Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission held its first meeting earlier this month and elected Colonel William Pallozzi, Superintendent of the Maryland State Police, as its Chairman and Baltimore City Police Commissioner Kevin Davis as it’s Vice-Chairman.

The 24-member commission was created as a result of legislation passed during last year’s General Assembly to help enhance relations between communities and law enforcement.

            “I am honored to serve the citizens of Maryland and the dedicated law enforcement officers of our state in this capacity,” Colonel Pallozzi said.  “I look forward to working with the members of the Commission as we seek to enhance standards and policies of policing in Maryland that will result in a safer state, better trained and equipped police officers, and an increased understanding of, accountability to, and support for, the citizens we serve.” 

"As our profession changes to better reflect the values society shares regarding public safety, it's an honor to be selected vice-chair of the inaugural commission," said Commissioner Davis. "I have no doubt Maryland will establish best policing practices that will be emulated across our nation." 

The new commission has an expanded membership including:

·         2 citizen members

·         4 non-voting members of the General Assembly

·         An expert in Mental Health

·         An expert in Police Policy

·         An expert in Community Policing

·         Geographic representatives from law enforcement agencies across the State

The new Commission assumes all of the roles and responsibilities of the Police Training Commission it replaced. The new legislation also created additional responsibilities for the commission and for law enforcement agencies. Among these new mandates are:

·         Posting of agency policies and collective bargaining agreements

·         Allowing public attendance at administrative disciplinary hearings

·         Annual reporting of agency Community Policing Plans

·         Use of force and de-escalation training

·         Modernization of recruiting practices

The Commission is responsible for setting minimum selection and training standards for the approximately 17,000 certified police officers working in 159 law enforcement agencies in Maryland.

The panel is supported by the staff of the Maryland Police and Correctional Training Commissions, an agency of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. It is in the process of selecting an Executive Director and working with staff on implementing the new requirements of the legislature.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 2017.

The members of the commission are:

Colonel William M. Pallozzi

Superintendent, Department of State Police

Kevin Davis, Commissioner

Baltimore Police Department

Chief David Morris

President, Maryland Chiefs of Police Association

Sheriff Timothy Cameron

President, Maryland Sheriffs’ Association

Gordon B. Johnson

Special Agent in Charge

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Vince Canales

President, State Fraternal Order of Police

Chief Charles H. Hinnant

Chairman, Maryland Municipal League

Police Executive Association

Rodney Burrell, President

Maryland Law Enforcement Officers, Inc.

Represented by:  Gwendolyn Smith

Brian E. Frosh, Attorney General

Represented by:  Stuart M. Nathan, Principal Counsel

Chief David Morris

President, Police Chiefs Association of

Prince George’s County

Represented by:  Chief Michael Wynnyk

Wes Adams, Anne Arundel Co.

Maryland State’s Attorneys Association

Sheriff Joseph Gamble, Talbot Co. Sheriff’s Office

Wor-Wic PAC – Criminal Justice

3 Regional Appointed Members

Sheriff Troy D. Berry

Charles Co. Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Allison M. Ehart

Howard County Police Department

Chief Barbara L. Duncan

Salisbury Police Department

Individual with Expertise in Community Policing

Captain W. Michael Crabbs

Harford Co. Sheriff’s Office

Individual with Expertise in Policing Standards

Miguel Dennis

Annapolis Police Department

Individual with Expertise in Mental Health

Dr. Michael B. Finegan

Salisbury, Maryland

2 Citizens of the State without Relationships to Law Enforcement

Matthew G. Alonsozana

Elkridge, Maryland

Marcus E. Pollock

Baltimore, Maryland

2 Members – House of Delegates (Advisory Only)

Delegate Curt Anderson

Delegate Michael A. Jackson

2 Members – State Senate (Advisory Only)

Senator Michael Hough

Senator Victor Ramirez

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site