image description

New Fort Hill Hall of Fame Class announced

October 23rd, 2015 by WCBC Radio

The We Are Fort Hill organization recently inducted three new members into the school’s Hall of Fame.  The 2015 inductees included Mark A. Griffin, Dr. Daniel P. Hunt, and Donald F. Nau, Jr. The recognition luncheon was held at Fort Hill on September 26, 2015. 

               Mark Griffin was a member of the Class of 1973.  He attended UNC Chapel Hill on a football scholarship, and while there, was a three-year letterman and graduated with a BSBA.  Griffin was a 1978 NFL Detroit Lions draft pick and a 1979 Washington Redskins free agent. He began a business career in 1980 in healthcare holding various sales and branch manager positions.  In 1992, Mark moved to Birmingham to become CEO of a privately held software company. Over the years, Griffin was engages as the CEO of several startup technology companies in need of director and/or investments. In 2005, he founded Blue Eagle Consulting, which provides subject matter experts for software systems in healthcare, and remains their president/owner to this day.  He lives with his wife of 29 years, Lucille, in Chelsea, Alabama.

               Dr. Daniel Hunt graduated from Fort Hill in 1974, after which time he attended Frostburg State University earning a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics.  He received his MD degree from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and completed his internal medicine residency at Vanderbilt and Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Hunt then spent the next eleven years in private practice of general internal medicine and subsequently became a clinician educator at Baylor College of Medicine. During his career he received numerous medical teaching awards.  He recently relocated to Emory University to lead the Division of Hospital Medicine, one of the largest academic hospital medicine groups in the country.  He is married to his wife of 26 years, Rosa, and the couple has three daughters.

               Donald Nau, Jr. was a member of the Class of 1978 at Fort Hill.  He attended Allegany Community College, and soon after, received an athletic scholarship to James Madison University, serving as an equipment manager for the football team. Donald graduated from JMU in 1982, earning a Bachelor of Science degree in geography. After graduation, he joined the Defense Intelligence Agency and was trained as an imagery analyst to monitor Soviet and Warsaw Pact military forces.  For the next 32 years, Donald held various senior executive positions in a number of intelligence agencies, the Department of Defense, and the US Africa Command in Europe. He is married to his wife of 30 years, Libby, and they have three children.

               The sponsors of the 2015 We Are Fort Hill Hall of Fame induction ceremony were as follows:  Ellen Arnone, Kathy Blume, Debbie and Larry Boggs, Colleen Burke, Rena and Dave Christopher, Jim Combs, Dr. Linda Weber Dunbar, Fort Hill Class of 1948, Mayor Brian Grim, Dr. Roseann Weber Hannon, Dr. James Heavner, Mark Manges, Harvey May, Anita McCoy, John and Rebecca Millar, Myra Ott, Dr. Edward Root, Hon. J. Frederick Sharer, Glen Shipway, Sally Pratt Shreve, Rocky Stafford, and Gene and Shirley Weber.

               Nominations for the next year’s Hall of Fame are accepted until January 31, 2016.  Nominees must have graduated from Fort Hill fifteen or more years ago and should be based on significant achievements in lifetime endeavors.  Nomination forms are available at  

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site