image description

New Leadership Awaits 2020 General Assembly

January 8th, 2020 by WCBC Radio

For the first time in 17 years, the Maryland General Assembly will have a new leadership team in place as the 2020.  When this year's legislative session opens this afternoon, Senator Bill Ferguson, a 36-year-old Baltimore Democrat, will be elected as the first new Senate president in more than three decades. Ferguson will succeed Senator Mike Miller, a conservative Democrat who is stepping down from the leadership post due to illness. Miller will keep his seat. State Senator George Edwards said despite the significant changes, he anticipates a smooth transition…


Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site