image description

Recently closed LaVale restaurant honored with award

May 4th, 2016 by WCBC Radio

2016 Stars of the Industry Award Winners Announced
Over 25,000 Votes Were Cast to Select Maryland’s Favorite Restaurant, Chef of the Year and Others. Among the winners include the Western Sizzlin in LaVale, which unfortunately just closed permanently last week. 

Winners of Maryland’s 2016 Stars of the Industry Awards were unveiled to a crowd of over 650 restaurant and hospitality leaders at the Restaurant Association of Maryland’s 62nd Annual Stars of the Industry Awards Gala. The Gala celebration and awards presentation took place Sunday, May 1, 2016 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront.

“The Gala is our opportunity to honor and give recognition to elite restaurants across the state. We are fortunate to have such a diverse group of restaurants to choose from who are dedicated to their customers, their community and their employees,” said Marshall Weston, President and CEO of the Restaurant Association of Maryland.

Award Winners and Honorees

2016 Chef of the Year, presented by Oracle
An executive chef who demonstrates consistent standards of excellence, serves as an inspiration to other foodservice professionals, displays dedication to the artistry of food and exhibits ongoing commitment to the community.
• Raynold Mendizabal- Urban Butcher

2016 Restaurateur of the Year, presented by the Maryland Restaurant & Hospitality Self Insurance Fund
A restaurant owner who shows originality, offers quality customer service, demonstrates success in the eyes of his/her fellow operators, and demonstrates leadership on behalf of the foodservice industry.
• David Dopkin- Miss Shirley's Café and The Classic Catering People

2016 Favorite Restaurant
A trendy spot or an old favorite that you return to time and time again.
• Lib's Grill, Perry Hall

2016 Favorite New Restaurant
A new establishment opened in Maryland in the past two years that exhibits a top notch menu, impeccable service and amazing atmosphere.
• Preserve, Annapolis

2016 Craft Brew Program of the Year, presented by Evolution Craft Brewing Co.
An establishment that is recognized for its craft beer selection and features a menu and staff that are knowledgeable and passionate about the world of craft beers.
• Alewife, Baltimore

2016 Favorite Bar or Tavern
The ‘watering hole’ you frequent where the drinks are great and the bartenders are beyond compare.
• Jimmy's Famous Seafood, Baltimore

2016 Wine & Beverage Program of the Year
An establishment that is distinguished by the quality, diversity, clarity and value of its beverage program.
• Liquid Assets Wine & Martini Bar, Ocean City

2016 Heart of the Industry, presented by CohnReznick LLP
A staff member who goes above and beyond to keep the restaurant running smoothly and exemplifies dependability, teamwork and dedication to the restaurant industry.
• Manager, Brendan McCool- Victoria Gastro Pub

McCormick Cornerstone of the Industry Award
Awarded to the companies that best illustrate how restaurants are the cornerstone of the economy and their community. These successful businesses support local communities by creating jobs and financially supporting non-profit groups, schools, scouts and youth sports teams.
• Glory Days Grill, Statewide
• Irish Restaurant Company, Anne Arundel County
• Tabrizi's, Baltimore
• Tino's Italian Bistro, Columbia

Maryland Hospitality Hall of Honor 2016 Inductees
The Maryland Hospitality Hall of Honor was created to recognize those restaurants in Maryland that embody the spirit of the hospitality industry based on their longevity and overall contributions to their customers and the industry as a whole.
• Maggie's, Westminster
• Rusty Scupper, Baltimore
• Shenanigan's Irish Pub & Grille, Ocean City
• TJ's of Calverton Restaurant, Beltsville
• Western Sizzlin Restaurant, Cumberland

2016 Allied Member of the Year
An industry supplier company that goes above and beyond to serve the foodservice industry, demonstrates leadership, and is recognized for outstanding service and quality products.
• Coastal Sunbelt Produce, represented by John Corso

The Otto Schellhase Award
An individual of sterling character who has made numerous contributions to RAM and the Education Foundation.
• Bob Garner- Glory Days Grill

The Brice & Shirley Phillips Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is given to the person who exemplifies sound business principles and impeccable character while dedicating their career to the betterment of the restaurant and foodservice industry.
• Rob Beall- Ledo Pizza Systems

Eddie Dopkin First Course Award, Honoring Entrepreneurship in Hospitality, presented by Miss Shirley’s Café and The Classic Catering People
The Dopkin family created this $5,000 scholarship to celebrate the life and memory of Eddie Dopkin, founder and visionary behind the award winning Miss Shirley’s Café and a partner with The Classic Catering People.
• Danielle Evans – Stratford University

2016 ProStart Student of the Year
• Khori Eubanks – Old Mill High School

2016 ProStart Teacher of the Year
• Lenore Martin – Northeast High School

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site