image description

Talking On Cell Phone While Driving Set To Become Primary Offense

September 25th, 2013 by WCBC Radio

Starting Oct. 1, police in Maryland will be able to pull drivers over for talking on a hand-held cell phone.
That's the biggest change in Maryland's driving laws set to take effect at the beginning of next month. Drivers caught driving while using a hand-held mobile phone can be fined $75 for a first-time offense, up from $40 under current law, but more for subsequent violations. The ticket carries no points unless the action contributed to an accident. Driving while talking on a hand-held cell phone was already against state law, but it was a secondary offense, meaning police could only ticket a driver for it if the driver was stopped for a primary offense, such as speeding.  AAA Mid-Atlantic officials said in a release the new law will help reduce distracted driving…





 

Leave a Reply

 



View Mobile Site