image description

Troopers Remind Drivers To “Move Over”

October 19th, 2013 by WCBC Radio

After one trooper was struck and critically injured and another trooper’s car was destroyed within four days, it is clear to Maryland State Police that drivers need to be reminded about the state’s ‘move over’ law, which is intended to increase safety for police officers, firefighters and EMS personnel when they are working along Maryland roads.   

 

State troopers across Maryland will be conducting coordinated traffic initiatives on October 21, 2013, reminding motorists of the importance of the ‘move over” law.  Special enforcement operations will be underway in every area of the state.  Drivers are being warned now to be alert for these operations.

 

Early on the morning of October 6, 2013, Trooper Jacqueline Kline was struck by a passing vehicle while she was assisting another trooper on the shoulder of Rt. 100 in Anne Arundel County.  The preliminary investigation indicates the driver failed to move over as he passed the two marked police cars with their emergency lights activated.  Trooper Kline remains hospitalized in critical condition. 

 

While investigating a crash on I-695 in Baltimore County on October 12, 2013, Trooper First Class Justin Updegraff’s marked patrol car was destroyed when a driver failed to move over or slow down.  Fortunately, Tfc. Updegraff was outside his vehicle when it was struck.  He did not sustain any injuries.

 

The intent of the ‘move over’ law is to provide an extra barrier of safety for police officers, firefighters, and emergency rescue personnel working on Maryland roads. 

The law requires drivers approaching from the rear of a stopped emergency vehicle with it lights activated, to change into an available lane not next to the emergency vehicle.  This movement should only be done if safe to do so.  When there is no available lane for drivers to move over into, such as on a single lane road, drivers are required to slow to a reasonable and prudent speed as they pass the emergency scene.  

 

It is hoped this awareness initiative will remind drivers to be aware of police and emergency workers stopped on the roads and to move away from them or slow down as they pass by the traffic stop or incident scene. Violation of the ‘move over’ law is a primary offense with a fine of $110 and one point.  If the violation contributes to a traffic crash, the fine is $150 and three points.  If the violation contributes to a traffic crash resulting in death or serious injury, the fine is $750 and three points.

 

Leave a Reply

 



View Mobile Site