image description

WCBC Younger Toyota Student Salute Winners Selected

April 23rd, 2020 by WCBC Radio

Three Allegany County Public School students were recently selected as 2020 recipients of the
WCBC/Frostburg State University annual High School Student Salute Program scholarships.
Hana Chitsaz of Mountain Ridge High School will receive a $5,000 one-year scholarship, to be
used for tuition, to Frostburg State University for the 2020-21 academic year. Kole Morgan, Allegany High School and Katherine Baker, Mountain Ridge,  are the second and third place recipients of $500 scholarships to FSU for the
upcoming year.

The Allegany County Student Salute Program is a collaborative effort to recognize high school
seniors who excel in the classroom founded WCBC and sponsored by Younger Toyota,
Frostburg State University, The Allegany County Chamber of Commerce, and the Allegany
County Board of Education. Through the program, those students identified as exceptional
academic achievers, based on GPA, school and community leaders, and who intend to enroll at
Frostburg State University, earn the opportunity to qualify for scholarships.

Applications are distributed and then collected by the school system for the WCBC/FSU Student
Salute scholarships which are converted into “on-air” salutes that run daily on WCBC radio
sponsored by Younger Toyota. The Chamber’s Education Committee reviews all applications
with the names removed to insure unbiased selection of the FSU scholarship recipients.
Due to the current situation mandated by the Governor, the awards will not be able to be
presented at a public meeting this year. WCBC will be posting video interviews with the award

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site