image description

Local Teacher of the Year honored

March 22nd, 2016 by WCBC Radio

On Monday,  the Board of Education of Allegany County hosted the 28th Annual Teacher of the Year Banquet at Mountain Ridge High School.  Nine ACPS educators were honored for their dedication and commitment to student success.  Tania Pressman, teacher at Cresaptown Elementary School, was selected as the 2016-2017 Allegany County Teacher of the Year.  

Dr. Darla Strouse, Maryland State Department of Education’s Executive Director of Partnerships and Recognition Programs, served as a special invited guest at this year’s event. Dr. Edward Root, President of the Board of Education, and Jake Shade, Allegany County Commissioner, offered remarks.

Tania received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Early Childhood/Elementary Education in 2003 and a Master of Education Degree in Reading in 2013, both from Frostburg State University. During her twelve years as an educator in Allegany County, she has taught kindergarten at Beall Elementary School for seven years and is currently a fourth grade teacher at Cresaptown Elementary School. Tania serves on the School Improvement Team and is the Chairperson of the Climate Action Team. She also sits on the Allegany County Teacher/Principal Evaluation Committee as the elementary teacher representative and is a voting member of the Allegany County Education Association. Tania resides in Cumberland with her family.

 “My sincere hope is that, at the end of the day, I have impacted someone in such a way that the world is a little better than it was before,” said Pressman.

Eight other Allegany County Teacher of the Year representatives were recognized at the banquet. These educators are as follows:  Kim Aikman, Westernport Elementary School; Tamarra Edwards, Allegany High School; Dawn Hipp, Joh Humbird Elementary School; Nadine Beechie (finalist), Mountain Ridge High School; Jennifer Holloway (finalist), Beall Elementary School; Heather Malec (finalist), Mountain Ridge High School; Kate Tummino (finalist), Parkside Elementary School; and Brian White (finalist), Allegany High School. 

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site