image description

45 Allegany High School students inducted into National Honor Society

November 11th, 2015 by WCBC Radio

Allegany High School inducted 45 new junior and seniors into membership of the National Honor Society (NHS) on Tuesday, October 20, 2015. These students joined the 27 current senior members who were inducted last year. Conducting the school-wide ceremony were Jenna Gregory, President; Carter Willetts, Vice-President; Cooper Hostetler, Secretary/Historian; and Jonathan Frank, Treasurer.

New members meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character were selected by a committee of faculty members following an extensive paperwork and verification process. Senior students inducted were:  Timothy Growden, Coralba LaRue, Nicholas Peterson, Raven Pifer, Bryson Shepherd, and Savannah Turner. Juniors inducted were:  Denise Adams, Haley Beck, Abigail Bloom, Rebekah Book, Abby Brauer, Nathan Bruck, Syndnee DeShong, Triston Eirich, Markayia Foster, Natalie Gray, Elizabeth Helle, Emma Helmstetter, Autumn Holt, James Kealey, Shyann King, Jared Klemm, Kaden Lohr, Alyssa Mangus, Brandon McCloskey, Erin Michael, Nicholas Miller, Nicole Morral, Margaret Neidhart-Shiver, Alexis Pfeiffer, Chanel Porter, Sean Rhodes, Kristian Robinette, Anastasia Simpson, Zachary Sterne, Samantha Summers, Jacob VanMeter, Sean Wade, Nicholas Warnick, Cooper Willetts, Brett Winterberg, Emily Wright, and Mason Yacuboski. Foreign exchange students inducted included Sol Nassif from Argentina and Felipe Ramirez from Chile.

Current senior members of NHS, inducted last year, also participated in the ceremony. These students were:  Cameron Bohrer, Kayla Brotemarkle, Grace Bryan, Lacey Day, Samuel Deneen, Zachary Ellsworth, Jade Enright, Jonathan Frank, Brady Gaumer, Blake Geatz, Alexis George, Jenna Gregory, Cooper Hostetler, Carson Imes, Kaitlyn Kauffman, Thorne Lindsey, Tarryn Logsdon, Clarissa Mason, Caeley McCagh, Carly McKenzie, Makaila Moulden, Sabrina Pratt, Jenna Puffinburger, Katelynn Suesse, Sabrina Upole, Carter Willietts, and Isabella Zornes.

The keynote speaker for the ceremony, chosen by the NHS members, was Mr. Brian White, Allegany High School’s teacher of the year. Mr. White shared, “It was an honor to speak on behalf of the school.”  The other speakers for the ceremony were Mr. Michael Calhoun, Principal of Allegany High School, and Dr. David Cox, Superintendent of Allegany County Public Schools.  Dr. Lori Brown, co-advisor, noted that, “Members of the National Honor Society are recognized leaders who make exemplary contributions to their school and membership in the NHS is a distinct honor.”  Dr. Kay Sheehe, co-advisor, added that, “The Allegany High School community supports this chapter and we thank everyone for that support, especially during the school-wide assembly and reception honoring these deserving students.” The Faculty Council at Allegany High School includes Dr. Lori Brown, Mr. James Bucy, Mrs. Betsy Geiger, Dr. Kay Sheehe, Mrs. Debra Slider, and Mr. Kevin Wallace.

The National Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in three-fourths of the nation’s high schools and, since 1921 millions of students have been selected for membership. The Allegany High School Chapter, now in its 62nd year, originated in 1954. Thousands of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).  Each participating chapter develops bylaws, which must be approved by the NASSP.


Photo Caption:  45 junior and senior students are new members of the Allegany High School Chapter of the National Honor Society following induction on Tuesday, October 20, 2015, joining 27 current senior members. Advisors are Dr. Lori Brown and Dr. Kay Sheehe.  Photo by G & G Studio.

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site