image description

Cox Named ECAC Offensive Player Of The Year

December 14th, 2018 by WCBC Radio

DANBURY, Conn. – The postseason honors and awards continue to pile up for the Frostburg State football team as the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced on Friday that five Bobcats were named to the All-ECAC Teams.
Senior quarterback Connor Cox was one of five major award winners as he was named the ECAC's Offensive Player of the Year after guiding Frostburg to a 10-1 record, while throwing for 2,623 yards with 28 touchdowns. He also added 246 yards on the ground with seven touchdowns.
Cox finished second in the nation in yards per attempt (10.85), third in passing efficiency (194.4), fourth in yards per completion (16.68).
A First Team All-NJAC honoree and the NJAC Offensive Player of the Year, Cox capped his Frostburg career as the program's all-time leader in passing yards, touchdowns and completions.
Joining Cox on the All-ECAC First Team Offense are senior offensive linemen Riley Hartman and Joey Powell. Both started all 11 games this past fall for FSU and both garnered First Team All-NJAC honors. Earlier his week, Hartman was named a First Team AFCA All-American.
The duo helped block for a Bobcat offense that led the NJAC and finished 39th in the nation in total offense (435.9). FSU led the NJAC and finished 20th in the country in scoring (40.7).
Cox, Hartman and Powell were named to the All-East Region teams last week.
The Frostburg defense also garnered a pair of All-ECAC Honorable Mention selections in senior defensive back Anthony Taylor and sophomore defensive end Zach Strand.
Taylor finished ninth on the team with 26 tackles, including 16 solo stops. Taylor added 2.5 tackles for loss, a sack, one interception, one pass break-up, two forced fumbles and one recovered fumble.
Strand led the Bobcats with 14.5 tackles for loss and 7.0 sacks to go along with 50 tackles, four pass breakups and two recovered fumbles.
Both Taylor and Strand were named to the All-NJAC First Team.
The Bobcats advanced to the NCAA Playoffs for the second-straight season and posted the only undefeated regular season in program history at 9-0.

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site