image description

School System Hosts 36th Annual Achievement Awards Banquet

May 1st, 2019 by WCBC Radio

On Tuesday, April 30, 2019, 59 high school seniors were honored at the 36th Annual Achievement Awards banquet held at the Allegany County Fairgrounds.  The end-of-the-year event recognizes graduating seniors in the Allegany County Public School System who are in the top 10% of their classes in academic excellence, who have made special accomplishments in the arts, and who demonstrate superior leadership qualities.  A total of 33 of these students have chosen to continue their education locally at either Allegany College of Maryland or Frostburg State University.

            Sponsors of this year’s event included the ACT 1st Federal Credit Union, Chessie Federal Credit Union, Daly Computers, First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union, Hamilton Relay, LaVale Lions Club District 22 W, Northrup Grumman, Skyline Technology Solutions, VERSO Corporation, Western Maryland Health System, and Willetts Technology, Inc. 

Members of the banquet planning committee who worked to organize the program are Nil Grove, chairperson; Dr. Kim Kalbaugh, Dr. Wendy Main, and Kimberly Hotchkiss.  Tom Harrison provided the music for the evening’s event, and Oscar’s Restaurant catered the sit-down dinner.  Also, thanks should be extended to he Career Center’s printing department and the RESTART program staff and students for the flowers cultivated in their own greenhouse at Eckhart School.

            Superintendent of Schools, Dr. David Cox, opened the event with a welcome address to all students, parents, and special guests in attendance.  Robert Farrell, school board president, served as the Master of Ceremonies and gave opening remarks and offered a reflection. Dr. David Bohn, school board vice president, gave a tribute and presided over the awards presentations. Tammy Fraley, school board member, led the pledge of allegiance; Debra Frank, school board member, introduced the evening’s special guests; and Wayne Foote, school board member, gave closing remarks.  High school principals introduced each of the students below as they received recognition for their accomplishments.

            Allegany High School: Shay Babich, Eesha Bokil, Emily Book, Benjamin Bryan, Cosimos Cendo, Eliza Griffith, Savannah Grimm, Emma Growden, Claire Marlowe, Joshua Pfeiffer, Parker Preaskorn, Nikhila Reddy, Christopher Reed, Antonia Zais, and Britney Zheng.

            Center for Career and Technical Education: Virginia Bise, Eleanore Browne, Libby Dozart, Thomas Dumas, Tynesha Goetz, Hanna Imes, Chyna Lagratta, Alexis McFarland, Madison McKay, Jordan Mellott, Garrett Nichols, Zachary Pheasant, Emily Wagoner, and Lacy Winters.

            Fort Hill High School: Brynne Adams, Blake Beal, Alyssa Bonner, Wil Brauer, Jasmine Harper, Sadie Harvey, Loretta Lick, Emily Maistros, Alyssa Mullery, Brianna Powell, Alexis Ritchey, Carter Swan, Justin Tran, Kira Twigg, and Haley Viola.

            Mountain Ridge High School: Wesley Blubaugh, Morgan Cuthbertson, Evan Darr, Andrew Dittmer, Dresden Kershaw, Michelle Lewis, Joshua Metz, Annie Moon, Timothy Moore, Meghan Murphy, Laurel Plitnik, Jackson Taylor, Grace Trenum, Trinity Washington, and Matthew Worgan.

One Response to “School System Hosts 36th Annual Achievement Awards Banquet”

  1. May 01, 2019 at 4:06 pm, Paolo Primavera said:

    It’s so nice to see that VERSO CORPORATION is supporting our Students while deserting the dedicated local workers who have labored for 130. Amen!


Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site