image description

ACM Professor Honored by Transform Mid-Atlantic

January 17th, 2023 by WCBC Radio

 Diane McMahon, a sociology professor at Allegany College of Maryland (ACM), Jennifer Haydel, a political science professor at Montgomery College (MC), and Joseph Bubman, the founder/executive director of Urban Rural Action (UR Action), are winners of the 2022 Civic Engagement Award from Transform Mid-Atlantic for their semester-long “Basic Needs Security Collaboration” project. 






“Your efforts epitomize the role that higher education can and must play in developing dynamic, civically engaged communities across the Mid-Atlantic region and country,” said Madeline Yates, executive director of Transform Mid-Atlantic. 






In addition to her instructional duties, McMahon is the faculty director of the College to Community Partnership Center. She joined ACM in 2015. She was selected to join the Ask Every Student 2022 co designer cohort.