image description

Deadline Set for April 15th to Run for Office

March 24th, 2022 by WCBC Radio

The latest deadline to file to run for office in Maryland is April 15th- with two earlier dates having been changed as a result of ongoing legal challenges pertaining to legislative redistricting. Locally the candidate lists are beginning to grow. In the city of Cumberland, while Mayor Ray Morriss does not yet have a challenger, there are a total of six candidates for two open city council seats including incumbents Rock Cioni and Joe George. Also on the ballot: Brett Bean; Mary Conlon; Chris Myers and William Patch. There are also six candidates on file for three Allegany County Board of Education seats.  In addition to incumbents David Bohn and Robert Farrell, others running include Janet Heavner; Lori Lepley; Meggin Miller and Linda Widmyer. Board member Deb Frank has already announced that she will not seek another term.  A total of five candidates, all Republicans, have filed to run for Allegany County Commissioner. All three seats are up for election with two of the three incumbents- Creade Brodie Jr and David Caporale- seeking a return to office. Commissioner Jake Shade has opted to pursue a seat in the Maryland State Senate. Other commissioner candidates include: Bill Atkinson; Jonathan Dayton and Todd Logsdon. The filing deadline again is April 15th- with the primary election now scheduled for July 19th.