image description

FSU 2023 Leadership And Engagement Awards

May 8th, 2023 by WCBC Radio

On Thursday, May 4, a myriad of Frostburg State University students was honored at the 2023 Leadership and Engagement Awards reception for their dedication and contributions to the University’s leadership. This eclectic group of individuals tirelessly serve the campus community in a variety of capacities, lending their time and talents to everyone they encounter.  The process for nominating a student for an award is open to anyone who has witnessed exceptional leadership and service of a scholar, peer, mentor or friend. Selection committees ultimately chose the award recipients after thoughtful review of the submissions.   The evening’s student award winners are as follows: Outstanding Cultural Programming Award, the 2023 Iota Stroll Comp hosted by Iota Phi Theta; Outstanding Social Programming Award, Evelyn Shanholtz for her efforts with the Trunk or Treat; Outstanding Educational Programming Award, Stella Beerninik for the Women’s Health Fair; Emerging Leader Award, Jamie Roberts; Unsung Hero Award, Kristina Thompson; Student Government Association Outstanding Senior Service Award, Ariyana Ward; 2023 Derek Thomson Sheely Leadership Award for Excellence in the Classroom and Community, Ciera Davisson; Student Employee of the Year, Kyujin Milstead; Social Change Award, Amber Greenbaum; the Father Ed Hendricks Award, Zachary Arnold; and the William Mandicott Pillar of the Community Award, Rachael Michalski.   Additionally, the 2023-2024 President’s Leadership Circle (PLC) members were introduced. This small, selected cohort of senior student leaders will be exposed to personal and professional development leadership opportunities facilitated by FSU’s president, Dr. Ronald Nowazcyk, and the Division of Student Affairs. New PLC members include Onaopemipo Baiyeshea, Ashlyn Cave, Kourtlan Copeland, Maree Dieterich, Mychael McKay, Elizabeth Perry, Ayden Robert, Jacob Stocker, Nicholas Trey and Aisa Wrights.   As part of the evening’s awards, Dr. Artie Travis, FSU vice president of Student Affairs, presented awards to several individuals who have made an impact on and contributed to the effective operations of FSU’s Division of Student Affairs. Recipients included Robin Wynder for her outstanding contributions to the Division of Student Affairs, Tim Pelesky and the FSU Information Technology team for their outstanding service to Student Affairs, Peyton McDonald for her outstanding contributions as a “Rising Star” and the Evergreen Heritage Center for its outstanding contributions to civic engagement.