image description

Governor Moore Announces Maryland Council on Innovation and Impact Members

March 21st, 2024 by WCBC Radio

Governor Wes Moore today announced the Maryland Council on Innovation and Impact members. Deputy Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor on Innovation and Impact Jonny Dorsey will serve as chair. Lisa Hamilton, Mark Lerner, Rachel Garbow Monroe, and Darren Walker will serve as honorary co-chairs.

"To win the decade, we need to work in meaningful partnership with leaders in philanthropy and the social sector," said Gov. Moore. "This council brings together some of the hardest-working leaders in our state and country to forge cross-sector partnerships for a stronger Maryland. I’m grateful that they’ve raised their hands to serve.”

​​​​​​​​​Established by executive order​ in May 2023, the council will encourage the flow of innovation, talent, and resources across social, government, and private sectors, identifying and exploring ways that cross-sector partnerships can be developed and strengthened across the state.

The council is also responsible for infusing the State’s innovation and impact work with the best available evidence, ensuring measured results and identifying and encouraging policies that increase and sustain charitable giving, volunteerism, and state service. The council will meet quarterly and will submit an annual report to the governor and the public, outlining the achievements of each partnership.

Council members include:

Jonny Dorsey, Chair; Deputy Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor on Innovation and Impact, Office of Governor Wes Moore

Lisa Hamilton, Honorary Co-Chair; President and Chief Executive Officer, Annie E. Casey Foundation

Mark Lerner, Honorary Co-Chair; Board Member, Baltimore’s Promise

Rachel Garbow Monroe, Honorary Co-Chair; President and Chief Executive Officer, Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation

Darren Walker, Honorary Co-Chair; President, Ford Foundation

Beth Blauer, Associate Vice Provost for Public Sector Innovation, Johns Hopkins University

John Brothers, President, T. Rowe Price Foundation and President, T. Rowe Price Charitable

Cheryl Dorsey, President, Echoing Green

Matt Gallagher, President and Chief Executive Officer, Goldseker Foundation

Don Gips, Chief Executive Officer, Skoll Foundation

Jan Rivitz, President and Chief Executive Officer, Aaron Straus and Lillie Straus Foundation

Jake Day, Secretary, Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development

Dr. Laura Herrera Scott, Secretary, Maryland Department of Health

Rafael López, Secretary, Maryland Department of Human Services

Paul Monteiro, Secretary, Maryland Department of Service and Civic Innovation

Vinny Schiraldi, Secretary, Maryland Department of Juvenile Services

Meryam Bouadjemi, Senior Advisor and Chair of the Maryland Entertainment Council, Office of Governor Wes Moore, ex officio

For more information about the Maryland Council on Innovation and Impact, visit