image description

Maryland Public Service Commissioner Announces Retirement

May 3rd, 2022 by WCBC Radio

Commissioner Mindy L. Herman, who has been a member of the Maryland Public Service Commission for nearly five years, has announced that she will retire as of May 4, 2022. First appointed to the regulatory agency by Governor Larry Hogan in 2017 to fill out the unexpired, five-year term of Commissioner Jeannette Mills, Commissioner Herman was reappointed in 2019.


Governor Hogan has appointed Patrice M. ‘Patty’ Bubar to the Commission to round out the five-member panel. Her first day at the Commission will be May 18, 2022. Since 2015, Ms. Bubar has served as Deputy Director of the Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection. In addition, her resume includes senior positions at federal cabinet-level and independent regulatory agencies including the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.


A resident of Gaithersburg, Ms. Bubar earned a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Pittsburgh.