image description

Commissioners Approve Enterprise Zone Recertification

December 7th, 2015 by WCBC Radio

The Allegany County Commissioners approved an Enterprise Zone recertification- an action that ensures that a total of 53 companies in the three zones that include the Frostburg business district, Riverside, and U.S. Route 220 will have property tax credits in the coming year.  Allegany County has three Enterprise Zones: The Gateway Zone, the Route 220 South Zone, and the Frostburg Zone. Twenty companies were recertified in the Gateway and Route 220 South Enterprise Zones. Thirty-three companies were recertified in the Frostburg Enterprise Zone. In the Gateway and Route 220 South Zones alone, companies reported an increase in 650 jobs over the base level and an additional $21 million in capital investment in total.  Matthew Diaz, Director of Economic and Community Development for the county, described the enterprise zone tax credits as an invaluable tool to attract and retain businesses…


Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site