image description

List of Names Surface to Fill City Council Vacancy

December 19th, 2018 by WCBC Radio

A number of familiar names make up the list of 16 applicants vying to fill the vacant seat on the Cumberland Mayor and City Council- including outgoing Board of Education member Laurie Marchini and the executive director of the Chamber of Commerce, Stu Czapski. Based on the advice of city solicitor Michael Cohen, the city has thus far chosen not to make the names of the candidates public. Also having been confirmed as having submitted letters of interest ahead of the December 7th deadline were: Andrea Beall; Rhiannon Brown; Erin DeLong; John Fetchero; Larry Jackson; Y’Vonne Perrier; Kelly Robertson; John Sangiovani; David Smtih and Buck Taylor. Outgoing Cumberland  Mayor  Brian Grim told  WCBC News that he believes there has been an effort to  “freeze him out” of the selection process to fill the vacant seat- adding that said that he believes the council has been pressured by outside influences to change the originally announced schedule.  Mayor-elect Ray Morriss tells WCBC News that he believes it is Grim that has had inconsistent positions on the process.


Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site