image description

Allegany College of Maryland Employees Honored with League Excellence Awards

March 14th, 2024 by WCBC Radio

Allegany College of Maryland (ACM) proudly announces that three of its employees, Laura Fiscus, Jennifer Light, and Sandra "Sandi" Foreman, were chosen to receive League Excellence Awards from the League for Innovation in the Community College. They were nominated and selected by their peers. The League Excellence Awards recognize those who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and leadership in the community college field.  

Fiscus, Light, and Foreman will be honored during The League’s annual Innovations Conference that begins this Sunday in Anaheim, California.  

Laura Fiscus, a professor and the chair of Academic Development at Allegany College of Maryland, has been described by her colleagues as a trailblazer in innovation. With over 30 years of teaching experience, Fiscus continues to approach each class, student and lesson with unparalleled enthusiasm and attention to detail. Her efforts to streamline the college’s developmental education curriculum have been instrumental in enhancing student success. Fiscus's commitment to innovation extends beyond the classroom as she actively leads campus workshops focused on stress management and self-care. Her dedication to academic excellence earned her ACM’s prestigious Sanner Award for Outstanding Teaching in 2022. 

Jennifer Light, PhD, serves as the program director of industrial technologies at Allegany College of Maryland’s Western Maryland Works Training Center and Makerspace. With a background in strategic planning and grant writing, Light has been instrumental in developing academic programming, including the Engineering – Automated Manufacturing degrees and certificate program, and fostering valuable partnerships between local industry employers and educational programs at ACM. Her leadership and commitment to education and community development have earned her recognition as a participant in the 2023-2024 class of the Appalachian Leadership Institute. 

Sandra "Sandi" Foreman, an administrative associate to the vice president of Advancement and Community Relations at Allegany College of Maryland, exemplifies the institution's vision and values with unparalleled dedication. Her integrity, empathy and strong work ethic have earned her the respect of colleagues and students alike. Foreman administers over $1.5 million in scholarships each year, ensures student eligibility and compliance, and maintains ACM’s online scholarship system. Foreman's many contributions to scholarship administration and her support and advocacy for associate support staff have enriched countless lives. 

The League for Innovation in the Community College established the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards in 2012 to recognize outstanding faculty, staff, and leaders in the community college field. The League Excellence Awards continue this tradition of celebrating excellence by honoring individuals who have made a significant difference in the lives of students and in the communities their colleges serve.