image description

Morriss, Buckel, Robertson will run unopposed

April 20th, 2022 by WCBC Radio

The deadline to file to run for office in Maryland has passed and locally there are a number of seats that won’t be contested. In Cumberland while there are seven candidates vying for two city council seats, no one filed to challenge incumbent Mayor Ray Morriss.  Barring something unforeseen, the path is now clear for him to be elected to a second term in November. Other incumbents who will not face primary or general election day competition include: House of Delegates 1B representative Jason Buckel; Allegany County Sheriff Craig Robertson; States Attorney James Elliot; Clerk of Court Dawne Lindsey; and Register of Wills Mary Beth Pirolozzi.  

The most hotly-contested races include Allegany County Commissioner where there are 6 Republicans and 1 Democrat on file; and Board of Education where 7 candidates are vying for three open seats. There are four candidates for the three Judge of Orphans Court positions with incumbent Al Feldstein opting not to seek another term, while former Judge Mark Widmyer is seeking a return to the office. In the House 1C race,  Republican Jason Merritt, who ran for sheriff four years ago, is the lone Allegany County resident seeking the seat being vacated by Mike McKay. Republicans McKay and Allegany County Commissioner Jake Shade are running for the state senate seat that will open with the retirement of George Edwards. McKay or Shade will face Democrat Michael Dreisbach in November.  Meanwhile four Republicans and one Democrat have filed seeking Wendell Beitzel’s House 1A seat. Like Edwards, Beitzel announced last year he would not seek another term. Maryland’s Primary is set for July 19th.