image description

We Are Fort Hill Committee Honors 2018 HOF Inductees

November 1st, 2018 by WCBC Radio

The We Are Fort Hill Committee recently honored Regina (Ferguson) Dowling and Harold (Hal) Smith as this year’s 2018 Hall of Fame inductees at a recognition luncheon on Saturday, September 22, 2018.

            Regina (Ferguson) Dowling graduated from Fort Hill in 1948.  She obtained her Nursing degree from Memorial Hospital School of Nursing and began her career as a bedside Registered Nurse.  Regina later moved to work as a nurse at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, where she became a pioneer in the medical field of Apheresis.  This technique is used in the treatment of certain diseases, one of which is stem cell therapy for cancer.  Upon her retirement, the NIH Patient Apheresis Clinic was named in her honor as the “Dowling Apherisis Clinic”.  Regina was also recognized in Who’s Who in Nursing 1993-1994.

Hal Smith graduated from Fort Hill in 1950.  He served two years active duty in the Naval Reserve before attending Frostburg State College and later Kent State University earning a Bachelor of Business Administration.  Hal worked in labor and employee relations management positions with BF Goodrich, General Electric, and Texaco while attending night law school at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law and the New York Law School. He was awarded a Juries Doctor Degree in 1972.  Hal is admitted to practice law in Florida, Ohio, all U.S. District Courts in Florida, and the U.S. Supreme Court.  He was employed as a labor lawyer with Eastern Airlines in Miami, Florida from 1972 until 1976 entering into private practice.  He was also selected as a Leading Florida Attorney in Labor Law and is rated AV preeminent 5.0 out of 5.0, the highest numerical rating within the Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Rating Program.  Hal is listed in Marquis Who’s Who in American Law 5th Edition.

Nominations for the next year’s Hall of Fame are accepted until January 31, 2019.  Nominees must have graduated from Fort Hill High School fifteen or more years ago and should be based on significant achievements in lifetime endeavors.  Nomination forms are available at


Leave a Reply