image description

Local Troopers Honored As The Best Of 2016

April 11th, 2017 by WCBC Radio

In a recent ceremony, Maryland State Police troopers from the Cumberland barrack were recognized by Colonel William Pallozzi for outstanding performance while carrying out their duties in Allegany County. 

Earning the distinction of “Trooper of the Year,” is Trooper First Class Wayne A. Couter.  TFC. Couter graduated from the 137th Academy Class on September 23rd, 2011 and was assigned to the Leonardtown barrack.  He was transferred to Cumberland in 2016 where he quickly excelled in drug interdiction and criminal investigations. Because of his strong work ethic and job knowledge, he has earned the respect of his work-group and supervisors alike – always setting the example for others to follow. In addition to his patrol duties, TFC. Couter volunteers his time as an advisor for the local MSP Explorer Post.  He has spent countless hours mentoring young Explorers and helping them to prepare for a career in law enforcement.  TFC. Couter has also stepped-up into the role of barrack recruiter and has conducted numerous MSP related activities to promote the department. TFC. Couter’s dedication to improving himself carries over in his off-duty life as well; he is a Freemason, a member of the Scottish-Rite and a Shriner.  TFC. Couter maintains the highest of moral standards both on and off the job.  It is for this reason he was selected as the Cumberland Barrack Trooper of the Year.

Also recognized was Corporal James R. Divelbiss as “Non-commissioned Officer of the Year.” Divelbiss was recently promoted to the rank of sergeant because of his leadership abilities and dedication to the citizens of Maryland.  He consistently sets an example to those under his charge and for other supervisors to follow.  Divelbiss is a 15 year veteran of the State Police and a lifetime resident of Allegany County.  Early in his career, Sgt. Divelbiss displayed a natural ability to detect impaired driving behavior exhibited by motorists and has been an asset in mentoring this skill to other troopers.  Because of his abilities, Sgt. Divelbiss is one of an elite group of troopers designated as a “Drug Recognition Expert” certified by the department.  Because of his expertise and his leadership qualities, Sergeant Divelbiss was selected as the Cumberland barrack Non-commissioned Officer of the Year.


Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site