image description

Maryland and West Virginia added to tri-state quarantine list

September 8th, 2020 by WCBC Radio

Four states were added Tuesday to the 14-day quarantine list for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.  Delaware, Maryland, Ohio and West Virginia were added because of rising COVID-19 rates, the governors of the states' announced.  Two U.S. territories, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, were removed. In all, 35 states and territories are on the quarantine list. The three most-populous states — California, Texas and Florida — remain on the quarantine list, while the territory of Guam remains New York and the two neighboring states implemented a joint travel advisory in late June as the coronavirus began to peak in other parts of the country after hammering the Northeast in March and April.

In order to qualify for the quarantine list, a state must have more than 10 average daily new coronavirus cases per 100,000 residents over the last week. Alternatively, a state makes the cut if 10% of its COVID-19 tests come back positive.