image description

Lanternfly Quarantine Zone Extended

March 14th, 2024 by WCBC Radio

The Maryland Department of Agriculture has announced the expansion of its spotted lanternfly quarantine zone to include Charles and Garrett counties. This expands the quarantine zone to essentially the entire state with the exception of Somerset, Dorchester, St. Mary’s, and Worcester counties. The spotted lanternfly poses a major threat to the region’s agricultural industries as it feeds on more than 70 different types of crops and plants, including grapes, hops, apples, peaches, oak, and pine.