image description

Local Carson Scholars announced

April 18th, 2017 by WCBC Radio

The Carson Scholars Fund has announced that 483 students from across the country have been named 2017 Carson Scholars, and 872 students have renewed their Carson Scholar status.  This year, Allegany County Public Schools is home to two first-time scholars, Benjamin Twigg, a fifth grader at Parkside Elementary School, and Kelsey Darber, a fifth grader at Northeast Elementary School. These selected students will receive a $1,000 college scholarship award for being named 2017 Carson Scholars. 

Each year the Fund recognizes a select group of high achieving students in grades four through eleven who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and humanitarian qualities.  Repeat winners are recognized for maintaining high academic standards and strong commitments to their communities.  

            To celebrate their accomplishments, the Mid-Atlantic scholars will be honored at an Annual Awards Banquet on Sunday, April 30, 2017. For more information, visit the Carson Scholars Fund website at                   


Leave a Reply