image description

New Board Members Will Be Sworn in Today

January 2nd, 2019 by WCBC Radio

The new Allegany County Board of Education will be sworn into office in ceremonies this afternoon and early indications are that things might get off to a rocky start. Wayne Foote will be sworn in for a second four year term, while Debra Frank and Robert Farrell will also begin four year terms. Having finished fourth in the election and filling the unexpired term of the late Lorelee Farrell, Dr David Bohn’s term runs just two years.  Once officially in office, it’s expected that the new board will address the issue of the effort to remove Foote which began with a vote from the outgoing board at a special late December meeting. However, Foote now finds two like-minded members joining him as both Bohn and Farrell campaigned on his behalf and now essentially form a majority voting bloc. Farrell and Bohn have both said they will look to challenge the outgoing board’s last minute action which they deem to have been nothing more than politically motivated. Ironically, in her parting comments in leaving the board after eight years, Laurie Marchini urged the new board to work as a team…

Leave a Reply

View Mobile Site