image description

Buckel Elected New House Minority Leader

April 13th, 2021 by WCBC Radio

Before leaving Annapolis following the conclusion of the 2021 General Assembly session, House Republicans  elected new leaders: Delegate  Jason Buckel (R-Allegany) is the new House minority leader; Del. Christopher Adams (R-Lower Shore) will be minority whip.  They were elected to lead the 43-member caucus after a Tuesday morning meeting. The two new leaders take over from Dels. Nick Kipke (R-Anne Arundel) and Kathy Szeliga (R-Baltimore County), who were the longest-tenured Maryland House GOP leaders in the modern era. Buckel told WCBC News that he thanked Kipke and  Szeliga for their long tenure, as well as allowing him to become part of the House GOP leadership team…